Real Natural Peanut Butter

I was never a fan of peanut butter. I know, it’s an American classic but I grew up very Asian and our lunches consisted of rice and bamboo with soy sauce. It wasn’t until I discovered freshly ground honey roasted peanut butter 6 years ago that I fell in love with this convenient and healthy food. Be careful with “natural” labels because there could still be hydrogenated oils and preservatives added. I would rather control that by making my own, plus it’s a lot more cost effective. Our local grocery store has a bulk food section so I can get a variety of nuts at a lower cost. I happen to like honey roasted peanuts but you can do whichever type you like. I haven’t tried almonds but I’m sure it would work just as well. Trust me when I say this is the best peanut butter you will ever eat. The consistency will not be like those over the counter preserved kinds but a little thick and chunky with little oil separation. I like to put it on freshly toasted wheat bread because the heat helps spread the chunkiness. Add sliced bananas and a little honey and you have a protein packed snack or pre workout meal that will keep you fill and satisfied.

 

Use any type of nut you like and place in food processor.IMG_4808

Blend, blend, blend. This is what it will start to look like.

IMG_4809

 

Be patient. It might take over 5 mins. You will see the natural oils start to bind it all together.

IMG_4810

 

Now just keep in an air tight container and enjoy! Thanks to my friend Anel, I discovered how amazing a peanut butter, banana and honey sandwich is.

IMG_4821

Leave a Reply

