6 Egg Yolk Cookies or Yummier Sugar Cookies

IMG_4963

If you know me, you know that I don’t like to waste anything, especially food. I love love love the yolk of an egg but even though they have good cholesterol you have to eat them in moderation. I forced myself to have egg white omelets but those from the carton are so gross and watery.  Thanks to my friend Jenny, I discovered how delicious they are separated from an actual egg. Since I eat them about 4-5 times a week, I end up throwing a lot of yolk way, which ironically hurts my heart metaphorically. Then I discovered that you can freeze the yolks for about 3-4 months!! Seriously you can freeze almost everything. With this in mind, I set out to find yolk recipes. Let me tell you that these recipes are super rich in texture and flavor. I’ve not found healthy recipes but just eat one or two and give the rest away.

This recipe is similar to a sugar cookie or snicker doodle in looks but the flavor is so much smoother and yummier because of the flavored extracts. I’ll post my version of the recipe because if you know me, you know I rarely follow a recipe to the T. It’s really easy and has little ingredients. You can’t mess up. I had to make a second batch because they were in such demand.

Recipe:

6-7 egg yolks

2 1/2 cups shifted flour

4 teaspoon baking powder plus 1/3 teaspoon

1 cup butter or margarine

1 1/2 cup of white sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 teaspoon almond extract (you can you lemon or whatever you want)

1/2 teaspoon raspberry extract ( you can you orange or whatever you want)

Cream butter and sugar for 3-5 minuets on medium high then add egg yolks one at a time. Add the extracts. Shift dry ingredients together and on low scoop 1/3 of flour mix to the creamed butter. Let it incorporate in then add the next 1/3, incorporate then add the last 1/3. Stop blender and scrape with spatula.IMG_4931

With clean hands, roll into walnut sized balls and roll in sugar.

IMG_4939

Flatten a little on cookie sheet greased or lined with parchment(not wax) paper. They will spread a bit so leave some room.

IMG_4945

Bake for about 8-10 minuets. If you like them crispier like short bread leave it longer. I like them soft and chewy. I’m sure you can add some cinnamon with the sugar when rolling to be like a snicker doodle. I firmly believe it’s the almond extract that makes the difference. The original recipe called for lemon and orange but I didn’t have that. I always like almond better anyways. It also used cream of tartar and baking soda for the leavening agent but I didn’t have that either so baking power is a good substitute. It’s 1 teaspoon of baking powder for every 1/3 teaspoon of cream of tartar and 1 teaspoon of baking powder for 2/3 teaspoon of baking soda. Experiment with different varieties. Very yummy.

2 thoughts on “6 Egg Yolk Cookies or Yummier Sugar Cookies

Leave a Reply

