Peplum Dress

IMG_5576I’ve been avoiding the peplum style for a few years because I always thought the flounces would accent my hips, which do not need any attention drawn to it. It’s very fashion forward but I just didn’t feel it was “me.” I do believe in taking fashion risks and not letting our preconceived notions of ourselves (which is usually not correct when it’s negative) stop me from trying something new. So thanks to my roommate Carolina I got this cute sheath dress with a subtle peplum silhouette. A sheath dress should be in every girls closet already because it’s very flattering and universal. I like how the peplum gives it a little pizzazz. There’s a subtle pattern that the red belt helps contrast with and I added classic pearls since it’s a little more business style. Colbolt blue pumps finish up the look better than classic black. I have an issue with black shoes because it can be boring. As a former peplum shy fashionista I can advocate that it’s worth the risk and you’ll be surprised how well it’ll turn out. This post if for you Karen, the biggest peplum advocate I know.

IMG_5572

Always have a classic clutch because it'll come in handy for lots of styles.

Always have a classic clutch because it’ll come in handy for lots of styles.

Leave a Reply

