Friedrich Wilderness Park

IMG_5550

This is a beautiful hidden gem just outside of 1604 and I-10 on 21395 Milisa Road 78256. Friedrich Wilderness Park is open from sun up to sun set, and yes they will ticket you if you stay out too late after dark. It doesn’t allow for bikes or dogs but is great for hiking and nature watching with some scenic overlooks. This is by far my favorite place to trail walk, trail run and hike in town. It actually has some good climbing since Texas is quite flat. I try to go every Sunday morning because it’s so serene and I really feel connected to nature. My favorite part though is seeing all the families that are having fun, active, quality time together. I love seeing parents instill those experiences and values to their little ones so they can gain a love of nature and health. My second favorite part is seeing all the elderly couples hiking and bird watching. It makes me want to be active now so I can still be active well past retirement.

I highly recommend checking this park out. You will be active, burn some calories, build muscle all the while having fun and get a little tan in. I’ve seen deers, red robins, a porcupine, and other little creatures. You can do the main loop or any of the various trails that branches off. Part of it is paved, part bark and part dirt and rocks. You can run it or you can walk it. You can even bring your camera to take amazing pictures. Either way it’s a place to definitely check out. If you don’t live in San Antonio just Google search parks and hiking areas in your town. Lots of hidden gems will pop up. Check them out. Sometimes it’s a bust and sometimes it’s your new favorite place to spend a Saturday morning. You’ll never know unless you check it out

-The flowers are in bloom with lots of color. -very simple map to follow. It's impossible to really get lost. Trust me I always find a trail back. -I like to run all the paved paths, and for a challenge I'll run all the rocks too.

-The flowers are in bloom with lots of color.
-very simple map to follow. It’s impossible to really get lost. Trust me I always find a trail back.
-I like to run all the paved paths, and for a challenge I’ll run all the rocks too.

 

Leave a Reply

