Lemon Poppy-Seed Cake

This is one of the recipes that I found because I needed to use all the excess egg yolks I accumulated. I love lemon and poppy-seed so this really intrigued me. It’s a recipe from the Neue Galerie cafe in New York City. I’ve never eaten there but it seems pretty ritzy and sophisticated. The ingredients are really simple and I was able to find poppy seeds in the bulk food bins at Sprouts.

The original recipe said that the batter would be very sticky but I didn’t have that problem. I think I over mixed the batter but it still was really good. It was a little denser because of over mixing but it wasn’t too glutenous. I also added 1 juice of a lemon because I didn’t think the batter was lemony enough. Next time I would add the juice of two lemons because I like a more tart taste. It’s a very nice cake that isn’t overly sweet and the poppy seeds add a nice nutty taste. I hope you will try this recipe out.

Ingredients:

2/3 cups white sugar

8 large egg yolks

1 large whole egg

1 1/2 tbsp lemon zest (from 2 lemons)

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup corn starch

Pinch of salt

2 sticks (1/2 pound) unsalted butter, melted and cooled a bit

1/2 cup poppy seeds

juice of 2 lemons (I added this myself)

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Butter and flour 8″ fluted bunt pan generously. I didn’t have one so I used a regular 10″ cake pan. Also butter dull side of foil to cover pan in oven.

IMG_6698

Cream eggs and sugar until fluffy, about 8 minuets, on medium speed. Sift together flour, corn starch and salt and fold into egg mixture. This is where I beat it in because I forgot so please make sure you fold dry ingredients in as to not over mix. Now you can slowly beat in butter, lemon juice and poppy seeds just until incorporated. Pour into buttered and floured pan. It’s such a pretty batter. Cover with tin foil for about 45 minuets then take foil off and cook another 15 minuets but watch it. Once cake starts to pull away from pan it’s done. Let cool for 30 minuets. IMG_6701A little powdered sugar on top.

IMG_6709So yummy and light.

IMG_6712

One thought on “Lemon Poppy-Seed Cake

  1. Pingback: Lemon Poppy Seed Cake - Can't Stay Out Of The Kitchen

Leave a Reply

