Home Made Granola

photo(1)

You know how I like to control sugar and processed foods. Granola is portrayed as a healthy snack to boost energy and helps fill you up because of all the fiber but a lot of the products out there are full of sugar and bad fats. And because it’s supposed to be healthy, it’s very easy to over eat it. I found an amazing, delicious and healthy granola recipe but I felt it didn’t need all the sugar and oil called for so I tweaked it a bit. This is definitely yummy and you can eat it as cereal, in non fat yogurt, alone, or any other way you like granola. I do try to measure my portions out. I find that half a cup keeps me super full. It’s so good though that I keep wanting to eat more but as this is actually healthy for you, indulging a little won’t be that bad. I add dried cranberries (which when I find fresh cranberries I will dry them myself to control the sugar) as needed. They really add sweetness when I want it.

Ingredients:

5 cups of old fashion oats

3 cups slivered almonds

1/4 packed brown sugar (I’m slowly trying to cut this out)

2 tsp grown cinnamon

1 tsp dried ground ginger (I get it as needed from bulk food section)

1 tsp sea salt

3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce or just blend two apples (green apples really make it more tart)

up to 3/4 cup of honey (I’ve used 1/4 cup and liked it but I don’t like a lot of sweetness)

Stir dry ingredients together in large bowl.

In small saucepan, warm applesauce and honey. Mix warm fruit mixture with dry ingredients. Blend well.

Spread evenly to two cookie trays and bake at 300 degrees F. Bake for 20-30 minuets depending on your oven and stirring granola every 7-10 mins to cook evenly. Be mindful of the edges as they burn faster. You have to watch carefully because you want to take it out when it’s still a little soft. It hardens as it cools so you don’t want to over cook it. I usually do one softer and one crunchier because I like the variety. Let cool and place in air tight container. I add cranberries for cereal but I like it without in yogurt. That’s why I just add as needed per eating. You can try adding different tried fruit, sunflower seeds or peanuts would add good flavor. It makes a whole lot so I like to give them to place them in little baggies and give to friends. photo

Leave a Reply

