Orange Tofu Stir Fry

I don’t like to waste so while house sitting, I found a bag of oranges that would expire soon. I like to eat oranges but I can only eat so many in one sitting. I also had some random veggies and food that need to be eaten. So what’s a gal to do? EXPERIMENT!!!

Oranges are used all the time in cooking ex: orange chicken. But those dishes can also be high in sugar to create a glaze. Oranges already have natural sugars so no need to add extras that has no health benefits. Also give tofu a chance. There are lots of ways to cook and eat it. I love tofu so a light saute is all I need. I even just eat it plain. For cooking in stir fry always get the firm kind. The silk will just break apart (it makes a great egg substitute omelette though). You can place it between two plates with a heavy can on top plate to squeeze out any water. I don’t do that much because I like the texture of a “spongy” tofu. You can lightly dip in eggs and coat with some corn starch and bake them to get a crispier texture. Anyways I digress from my EXPERIMENT!!

Ingredients in the fridge. You can substitute the veggies and even meat. The main ingredient is oranges. Single serving:

3 oz cubed firm tofu

1/4 cup diced green bell pepper

2 oranges peeled and separated from membrane

small handful of carrots cut up

4-6 cherry tomatoes halved

1 garlic clove smashed

handful of cilantro

lime wedge

unrefined coconut oil

Salt and pepper

IMG_8361

In medium heat of sauce pan put about 1 tsp of unrefined coconut oil. This has so much more flavor than refined and is better for you than olive oil. Once heated, put in garlic to soften. Add tofu and let cook for about 5 minuets stirring occasionally. Next, add everything but the cilantro and lime. Salt and pepper to taste. Cook only about 3 minuets. Take the left over orange “carcass” and squeeze all the juice to deglaze pan. Cook another minuet. Add cilantro and take off heat.

I already had some brown rice and black beans reheated. I like to have some pre-made rice and beans already tupperwared in the freezer. They hold very well and can be used for many dishes. Place Orange Tofu Stir Fry on top and squeeze lime juice before eating.IMG_8365

The orange and lime citrus blends well together with just a little sweetness. The oranges did fall apart in the cooking process so next time I’ll add it later in the cooking to keep them in tact. This is a great way to add new flavor, use up left overs and still have a healthy meal, even away from home. Oh and it’s glutton free and vegetarian. I’ll try a raw version too. Please try it and give me any improvements you made 🙂

2 thoughts on “Orange Tofu Stir Fry

  1. Pingback: Tofu Stir Fry with Baby Bok Choy | Daily EZ Cooking

  2. Pingback: Yu-Shiang (fish-flavored) Tofu Stir Fry | Daily EZ Cooking

Leave a Reply

