Grilled Eggplant Zucchini Chickpea Salad

I am not a chickpea or legumes lover but they are really good for you, a cheap source of protein and has good carbs so I am determined to learn to like them. I’m pretty stubborn so every now and then I make a bean dish. I learned a few tricks to help me acquire the taste for garbanzo beans.

I like them ground like hummus and falafel. I also like them roasted with some EVOO and spices. If it’s from the can, they have to be well rinsed, drained and have the skin taken off. They now have this buttery and thick taste that I like. I also like to mix the beans with other flavors I do really love like eggplant, zucchini and lime juice. Here is my super yummy, filling and easy Grilled Eggplant Zucchini Chickpea Salad.

Ingredients:

1 24oz can of garbanzo beans rinsed and dranined

1 small eggplant

1 small zucchini

1 lime

Feta cheese (optional)

a few mint leaves

salt/pepper

coconut or evoo

Directions:

Rinse and drain beans well and set aside. Cut eggplants into 1/4 inch round discs. Cut zucchinis in 1/4 inch rectangles. See picture for examples. Place on baking sheet and brush with oil of choice. I like coconut because it has a subtle coconut flavor. I like unrefined coconut oil because it has more flavor than refined. There is also the pressed and unpressed type which is just solid or oil form. After brushing, salt and pepper each side. Grill 3-4 mins on each side. You can use a grill or a grill plate like I did. Set aside to cool. For single serving, take about 2/3 cup of beans in a bowl. Cube up 2-3 eggplant and zucchini each depending on size. Sprinkle with 1-2 tbl of feta cheese and 3-5 mint leaves cut up. Squeeze half a lime and as a non bean lover, I devoured this dish! The flavors just dance in your mouth and all the freshness just screams summer and healthy. The beans are packed with protein so you will be super full. If using coconut oil, you will have a nice and subtle little surprise of coconut. YUMMY!!

Rinse, drain and rub off the skin.IMG_8691

Brush with oil and salt/pepper.IMG_8695

Grill 3-4 mins.IMG_8698IMG_8701

Oh my gosh! This was so good I can’t wait until my next bean mean.IMG_8706

Leave a Reply

