Healthy Won Ton Wrappers

Y’all know I like to make things homemade when possible. I have been seeing a lot of healthy recipes using won ton wrappers but I stayed away from them because of the use of white flour. By making my own I can control how much simple carbs are being used. I first tried a combination of half wheat flour and half oat flour but it was a little tough but very hearty. I ended up making them into tortillas and eating with peanut butter. For my second attempt, I used half wheat flour and 1/4 each oat flour and white flour. It turned out great especially when I used a pasta machine to roll them out thinly.

Ingredients:

1 cup wheat flour

1/2 cup white flour

1/2 cup oat flour

1/2 tsp salt

1 egg

1/3 cup water (more or less to get a pliable dough)

In a bowl mix egg and water together. In food processor, pulse together the dry ingredients. On low setting, slowly drizzle in the egg mix. let it run for about a minute.

IMG_0164

Stop and finish kneading the dough on the counter. I didn’t need to flour the counter because the dough wasn’t very sticky. Just knead enough to for a solid ball. Cut in half and wrap them in a damp cloth for 30 minutes. IMG_0166

I’ve never made fresh pasta so I’m not the best at rolling them out. The method I used was cutting each ball in half, then into 3 equal parts. I took one of the small cut up balls and pressed it flat.IMG_0203

On my pasta maker I put the setting on the highest number 7 and pressed through. It’s ok if it falls apart. You just want them flat.

IMG_0204 I take the flat wrappers, place them on top of each other, or fold it in half if it didn’t fall apart in the pasta roller, and roll through on the 7 setting again. This just forms a solid base that should resemble more of a rectangle now.

IMG_0205 Turn down the roller setting to 6 and run wrapper through again. You might have to fold the wrapper in half or thirds to form a better rectangle or square. If you do, run through number 6 again.

IMG_0208Just keep turning roller lower and lower until you get to the smallest setting. I manipulate the wrappers the way I need to keep the rectangle/square shape. I’ll probably YouTube proper ways to use the pasta machine but the more I did, the easier it became. IMG_0210

Once I got the thin rectangle wrappers pressed, I just them into 3 1/2 by 3 inch squares because of what I wanted to do with them.

IMG_0211You can make them bigger or smaller based on your needs. To store them, I just brushed a little corn starch in between each sheet and placed in air tight container with a slightly damp cloth covering them. I’m not sure how long it will last in the fridge but the important thing is to not let it dry out.

IMG_0214I’ll post recipes on what I used the wrappers for. I made chips, ravioli and a sweet appetizer with them. The amount of wrappers made depends on how thin and how large you make them. I got a whole lot of wrappers out of it. It’s healthier, no added fat and has a hearty fill from the wheat flour but it’s not a strong taste. It’s very pliable and doesn’t break apart. Simple and worth a try.

Leave a Reply

